Northwestern Water Snake

By: ilovethatsam

Jun 27 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Animals and Insects

1 Comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

Walking very closely along a water’s edge, I heard and saw sudden movement go into the water as I had approached. Some, I had imagined were frogs, and others I wasn’t quite sure about, given their larger movements. As I slowed my pace to nearly a creeping crawl while staying focused on the grassy area ahead of each footstep, I was shocked to have this appear in front of me.

My body instantly froze into place, as my emotions ran amok with fear and excitement. I focused on the only part of the body that was visible to my location. Then, I leaned closer down to attempt an even closer shot.

Knowing that at my next slightest bit of movement it would very quickly slither into the water at our left, I became happy with what I had accomplished. I moved my right foot up as if to make another step, and just as I had imagined, it took off to the left.

One comment on “Northwestern Water Snake”

  1. I hope he wasn’t as big as he looks…I liked the design on his skin. Such a complex and beautiful pattern on a slithering creature.


Leave a Reply

