Butterfly

By: ilovethatsam

Jun 29 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Animals and Insects

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

I was driving out of the area that I was hoping to catch some good inspiration from when I, somehow, had noticed this incredible creature sitting atop the leaf. The only thing I can even think of is that his beautiful and brightly colored wings stood out from the surrounding muted greenness.

I walked slowly to it, stopped, then took a shot. Without a budge from it, I walked closer and shot again. Still, with no movement from this painted insect, I began to worry that I may have found a perfect and beautifully dead butterfly. I baby-stepped myself even closer to it and leaned over while I took my final shot.

After I had accomplished what I wanted to with it, I tapped on the leaf.  I became relieved and happy when it had finally fluttered away. But not before I had thanked it for allowing me to shoot it.

Leave a Reply

