Captured Crab

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 12 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Animals and Insects

1 Comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

Mary had explained to me that the kids (and few adults) were catching small crabs when I asked her what they were doing in the shallows of the water. I had suspected so, seeing them with their nets in hand and buckets on shore. However, I just wanted confirmation that I was thinking correctly.

Without even asking, the two of us had walked up to the area in which they were and glanced into each of their now water and crab filled buckets. I was surprised to see such an abundance of crustaceans crawling around in the make-shift homes that they had been forced to enter.

The biggest of them all had impressed me enough to warrant my shooting it. As I focused on its face, I began to laugh, for one of the older children ecstatically and very loudly spoke, “She’s taking a picture!” If he had thought that I was working for a newspaper, or the such, I am still sorry for raising and giving him such hope.

I just wanted the photo for myself and for all of you.

One comment on “Captured Crab”

  1. upon seeing your face from the bowels of that prison, I’m sure the crab was hoping for a speedy release.


Leave a Reply

