Julia

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 21 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Animals and Insects

1 Comment

Aperture:f/7.1
Focal Length:240mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

Seeing that one of the friendlier employees that had walked freely within the compound keeping a watchful eye on the patron’s behaviors had a vibrantly bright orange butterfly attached to his shoulder, I stopped him to ask him the breed’s name.

“Julia”, he replied.

She was quite common within the large square footage, and I was hoping that I would be able to meet one up close and personal the way he had, or at least capture the image of one in a shot.

Eventually seeing that a group of them traveled together and then landed in the same area, I found the one that caught my attention. She had perched herself upon a leaf behind a large hedge of some exotic kind. I glued my footing into the place that they were, leaned forward and crooked, and somehow keeping my eye focused through my lens, I took this shot, despite my awkward body positioning.

After straightening myself back into the normal upright position, I glanced over to Julia and thanked her.

 

One comment on “Julia”

  1. She is just lovely, and I am always amazed at the beauty of insects that we take for granted as pesky bugs. Thank-you Janet for showing us how beautiful these little creatures really are.


Leave a Reply

