Perched

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 30 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Animals and Insects

4 Comments

Aperture:f/9
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/320 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

I have a true fondness for birds of prey. I find myself fascinated with their ability for speed when hunting, their agility when soaring through the air, and quite beautiful in their own “ugly” way.

Just as my friend Jake was explaining that the fenced area we were about to drive by usually sits many vultures, I had spotted quite a few. He quickly pulled into the driveway and parked the car, enabling us for hopeful shots.

My eyes zeroed in on the beauty while it was turned away. I whistled to it, smiled as it met my expectation of the turn-around, then I shot.

4 comments on “Perched”

  1. such a beauty!

  2. His head and neck look as if they are in a suit of armor waiting for battle. I love the colors of his feathers.

  3. Gorgeous creature … vigilant and dignified.


Leave a Reply

