Caught In The Act

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 31 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Animals and Insects

3 Comments

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/200 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

I had pulled over on the desolate road when I noticed the small swamp just to the right.

As I walked on the edge, I looked at everything very carefully, hoping that something special would draw my attention. The sounds of “plopping” into the black water would scare me as the frogs jumped to their escape from the giant as she approached.

The glisten of beetle colors would shine from the sun’s glare with every flower that I passed. Their shiny backs became more prevalent and even more important than the bud itself. With each and every flower, I would find the occasional loner walking around, a cluster of busy ones scrounging in circles, and occasionally a party of different bugs altogether.

But then, my voyeur moment had arrived. I watched for a bit, wanting to make sure they were in fact mating and not just one climbing over the other. Just as I had become sure, my excitement level elevated, for I knew that I would be getting a sublime shot.

3 comments on “Caught In The Act”

  1. This is a great picture of mother nature taking her course! What I find most interesting (and hilarious) is the bug to the botto right that’s just creeping out. This is a fun photo to look at!

    If you find a moment, please visit my photoblog at the link provided below. I am fairly new to photography and any advice would go a long way. Thanks!

    http://eversince1983.wordpress.com/

  2. I agree with Jerry on this one…it is a fun picture. good eye


Leave a Reply

