Eastern Comma Butterfly

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 31 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Animals and Insects

1 Comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:260mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

Here in my town resides a state park that is now, unfortunately, not a cared for nor maintained piece of property. It really is sad that this once beautiful and spacious place was a wonderful area that I, myself, used to have great days in. Now that the state has let it go, one can no longer drive through the roads to see all its beauty. Barriers and guard rails line the roads and even block them, not allowing visitors.

However, when I travel there to see if I can catch any kind and/or type of the past glory; I usually still manage to.

My last visit did indeed prove this point.

As I made my way down the only maintained area in the vast park (a path leading to the pond), I was welcomed by the clicking of the numerous grasshoppers from one leaf to the next. My ears were also filled with the buzzing of cicadas in the background while the sounds of field birds serenaded me.

I reached the water’s edge only to be greeted by an array of different butterfly species and a crazy amount of dragonflies.

One particular beauty stood out in my eyes. I followed it and luckily managed to shoot it while it rested.

One comment on “Eastern Comma Butterfly”

  1. what a beauty and the color and markings are great.


Leave a Reply

