Living Within The Dead

By: ilovethatsam

Jul 31 2011

Tags: ,

Category: Trees

3 Comments

Aperture:f/13
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:PENTAX K-x

While I find beauty in some dead things, I became awe-stricken once I looked up and found these skeletons piercing the clear blue sky.

If you look closely to the second trunk from the right and just about half way up, you’ll notice a slight change in coloration. Learning from past experiences and as I go, I truly believe that that is a custon-carved entryway to the home of a woodpecker family.

Unfortunately, I hadn’t noticed it until I spent my time going through my shots more intently on my desktop. Had I been able to see it with my naked eyes, I certainly would have hung out longer, hoping for my paparazzi opportunity of a family member.

3 comments on “Living Within The Dead”

  1. Isn’t it amazing how much beauty surrounds us and goes unnoticed every day? This is indeed a great shot. The branches create some neat angles. Great photo!

    If you find a moment, please visit my photoblog at the link provided below. I am fairly new to photography and any advice would go a long way. Thanks!

    http://eversince1983.wordpress.com/

  2. Just an awesome shot Janet. You know how I like naked trees, and this one is the top of my list. Just beautiful.


Leave a Reply

